click to enlarge

Chet Baker- It Could Happen To You: Chet Baker Sings
February 17, 1988
Original Release Date: 1958

Chet Baker/Trumpet & Vocals, Kenny Drew/Piano, George Morrow, Sam Jones/Bass, Philly Joe Jones, Danny Richmond/Drums

1. Do It The Hard Way
2. I'm Old Fashioned
3. You're Driving Me Crazy
4. It Could Happen To You
5. My Heart Stood Still
6. More I See You, The
7. Everything Happens To Me
8. Dancing On The Ceiling
9. How Long Has This Been Going On?
10. Old Devil Moon
11. While My Lady Sleeps - (mono, bonus track, take 10)
12. You Make Me Feel So Young - (mono, bonus track, take 5)

Simply a continuation of the whole "Chet Baker Sings" effort/phenomenon. But this time on a different label. Chet continues to charm and seduce us with his mysterious voice. Though short of spectacular classics such as "That Old Feeling" or "Let's Get Lost," Chet takes it easy here. He carefully construes every note, be it trumpet or vocal and he brings us mystical ecstacy. Moreover, even his humming in a few tracks is just so pleasurable. A fun album to have if you think Chet's voice is his strength, or simply a treat.

Extended Listening

-Chet Baker- The Best of Chet Baker Sings


<<back to Jazz content

get real player to listen audio samples

Make your own free website on Tripod.com