click to enlarge

Dave Brubeck-Night Shift [LIVE]
March 23, 1995
Original Release Date: 1995

Dave Brubeck/Piano, Bobby Militello/Alto & Tenor Saxes, Flute, Chris Brubeck/Bass Trombone, Bill Smith/Clarinet, Jack Six/Bass, Randy Jones/Drums

1. Yesterdays
2. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
3. Travelin' Blues
4. Thank You
5. You Go To My Head
6. Blues For Newport
7. Ain't Misbehavin'
8. Knives
9. River Stay 'Way From My Door

Few ancient jazz masters can maintain their panache after several decades, Stan Getz is one (check out People Time), Dave Brubeck is another. Though he's old, his music hasn't aged at all and this CD puts him in a position that Mr. Brubeck has never been in before, namely, Nirvana. With the help of bassist Jack Six and drummer Randy Jones, Dave is on top during this live performance in Blue Note in 1995 and he has never sounded better. With the incredibility of Telarc recording/mixing technology, Dave shows his skills and form while Bobby Militello blows his lungs out of the saxophones and we can hear his saliva splashing on stage, literally. On "Ain't Misbehavin'," doesn't Chris Brubeck sound so blue that the heaven must drop? The whole album is a summary for real blues. The choice of songs is not to be criticized and like one of the tracks says, "Thank You." That's exactly what I have to say to Brubeck and his crew.

Extended Listening

-Dave Brubeck - Time Out

<<back to Jazz content

get real player to listen audio samples

Make your own free website on Tripod.com