click to enlarge

Stevie Ray Vaughan - The Sky is Crying
November 5, 1991
Original Release Date: 1991

1. Boot Hill
2. Sky Is Crying, The
3. Empty Arms
4. Little Wing
5. Wham
6. May I Have A Talk With You
7. Close To You
8. Chitlins Con Carne
9. So Excited
10. Life By The Drop

Undoubtedly Stevie's greatest album and perhaps one of the best albums ever produced in blues history. "The Sky is Crying" is a combination of skill and feeling, experience and mood, and the psychological prospects of a legend. This album demonstrates what simple good blues is and that it's not only a sheer joy to play but also to listen to. All the songs in this album are good for the ear. The song "Little Wing" is the treasure of this album and I can courageously say this: This version the best "Little Wing" there is, even better than the original Hendrix's. Unlike "Voodoo Child", this is not an embarrassment, but a triumph; a nice finishing touch for a miraculous bluesman. Also check out "Chitlins Con Carne" for Stevie's jazz talents. Sure it comes in close seconds with Kenny Burrell.

Extended Listening
-Kenny Burrell- Midnight Blue
Make your own free website on Tripod.com