click to enlarge

Chet Baker- Out of Nowhere: Chet Baker Quartet Live, Vol. 2 [ORIGINAL RECORDING REMASTERED] [LIVE]
January 23, 2001
Original Release Date: 2001

Chet Baker/Trumpet, Russ Freeman/Piano, Carson Smith/Bass, Bob Neel/Drums

1. Billie's Bounce |
2. Stella By Starlight
3. Line For Lyons
4. Carson City Stage
5. All The Things You Are
6. No Ties - (incomplete)
7. Out Of Nowhere
8. Deep Purple
9. Lady Bird

This is no doubt Chet Baker's best era, with his best quartet (Like John Coltrane's classic quartet and Bill Evans's trio). Chet's trumpet playing never sounded better! This is Chet's trumpet playing without vocals. For those who want to listen meticulously to Chet's horn blowing will not want to miss this one. Indeed, Chet sounds so good here. Good song picking from his pianist Russ Freeman. All four players are not top-notch musicians like Miles' sextet, but somehow they manage to produce a "west coast cool" sound that makes their music more profound than wannabe sophisticated crap. The playing is plain and simple. And that's what Chet wants! The music is no more than what it purports to be. Cool, degenerate, detached, crisp, clear and make no mistake!

Extended Listening

-This Time The Dream's On Me- Chet Baker Quartet Live, Vol. 1 [ORIGINAL RECORDING REMASTERED] [LIVE]


<<back to Jazz content

get real player to listen audio samples

Make your own free website on Tripod.com