click to enlarge

Chet Baker- Silent Nights
June 27, 2000
Original Release Date: 1986

Chet Baker/Trumpet, Christopher Mason/Alto Sax, Mike Pellera/Piano, Jim Singleton/Bass, Johnny Vidacovitch/Drums

1. Silent Night Pt.1 |
2. The First Noel
3. We Three Kings
4. Hark, The Herald Angels Sing
5. Nobody Knows The Trouble I've Seen
6. Amazing Grace
7. Come All Ye Faithful
8. Joy To The World
9. Amen
10. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
11. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
12. Silent Night Pt.2

This is in no way on earth a conventional Christmas album. None of the songs sound like Christmas songs under the interpretation of Chet Baker. Of course, Baker is a controversial figure who often tries to change the tradition. In this album, he brings worldiness to sacred, religious Christmas songs and express his emotions through his solos. You would wonder what this is all about. The answer is: I don't even know. The performances are first rate and are given the full Chet Baker treatment, in the best sense of that expression. Should you happen to feel like listening to Christmas music in July, you can listen to this CD without feeling self-conscious. These are such solid performances that they hold up at any time of the year. If you're searching for a traditonal feast of festivity, go look for Mariah Carey. If you are looking for the communciation of musicality and meaning through a rebelious heart and soul, this CD is a must. Not only is this the best Christmas album ever recorded, this is indeed music!

Extended Listening

-Joe Pass- Six Strings Santa


<<back to Jazz content

get real player to listen audio samples

Make your own free website on Tripod.com