click to enlarge

John Coltrane- Ballads [REMASTERED]
June 20, 1995
Original Release Date: 1962

John Coltrane/Tenor Sax, McCoy Tyner/Piano, Jimmy Garrison/Bass, Elvin Jones/Drums

1. Say It (Over And Over Again)
2. You Don't Know What Love Is
3. Too Young To Go Steady
4. All Or Nothing At All
5. I Wish I Knew
6. What's New
7. It's Easy To Remember
8. Nancy (With The Laughing Face)

This is, in my opinion, Coltrane's second best album (The best is "Black Pearls"). The songs are slow and warm and one can definitely understand Coltrane's playing here. Indeed, I encourage every one to examine Coltrane's skills here. He plays every song with a unique emotional and soul. This really captivates me and make me understand why Coltrane is as great as people deem him to be. He is capable to transgress the most basic and simple jazz into something grand, elegant and sophisticated. In other words, he's a magician. This album clearly demonstrates his magic. His music is his magic. A flawless piece of work.

Extended Listening

-John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman


Make your own free website on Tripod.com